Winter Storm 2014 Finally Winding Down!!

The major ice and snow storm that affected us for the last 2 days is finally winding down. The jog that the storm took to the north has also affected the snow totals that were forecasted across the area today dramatically. Here is a look at the current radar as of 11pm and you can see that we still have some small bands coming in this directionsimuawips-67

from out west that could give parts of the area an additional 1-2″. But the big thing to notice here is that because of the jog to the north, we are getting dry slotted. What that means is that most of the snow is going to move to the NW of the city giving the NW sections of the state be highest snowfall totals, which could be around 2-4″, for the remainder of the night in through tomorrow morning. Here are the latest HRR runs for Midnight tonight and you can clearly see a dry slot working itself through the central part of N Georgia.12amBottom line is that most of the N Georgia area for the remainder of the night will see some light sleet and some snow across the area, but not the 2-4″ totals that were projected by most of the computer models….

I also wanted to say a big thank you!!!!

I wanted to thank each and every one of you who came to this blog for your main weather source over the last several days, it means a lot to me that you count on me for your weather reports. Know that I will always be here to tell you what the weather will be doing on nice days, and on bad days. And I will also find interesting things to talk about like I always have!!

Follow my blog by clicking follow in the top left and make sure you like my facebook page, I will keep you posted.

Thanks again for supporting the blog and my social media presence!!

Here is a link to my facebook page http://www.facebook.com/thechiefmikefrancis

and my twitter feed http://www.twitter.com/mikefranciswx

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Winter Storm 2014 Finally Winding Down!!

  1. Anne says:

    I thank you for being there for us. You were the only place I went for the weather. Hope that you find a job in the area where they will appreciate your knowledge and expertise. Thanks again.

  2. thanks for all your work Mike

  3. Doug Smith says:

    Mike your knowledge and your forecast are deeply appreciated in our house and we’re hoping you stay with us in Georgia!

  4. Sheryl says:

    Thank you so much for this blog! I love learning from it and I have an 12 year old weather geek, my beautiful daughter, that loves it too.

  5. Carol Cantrell says:

    thanks so much Mike. I checked the blog everyday, each time you posted. have a great day!

    On Wednesday, February 12, 2014, The Weather Geek Nation wrote: > The Chief Mike Francis posted: “The major ice and snow storm that affected us for the last 2 days is finally winding down. The jog that the storm took to the north has also affected the snow totals that were forecasted across the area today dramatically. Here is a look at the current ra” >

  6. Sharyn Dickerson says:

    I lived for your updates and greatly appreciate all your hard work keeping us informed!

Leave a Reply

